Leading Souls to Christ, Part 6 (Onward Christian Soldiers #116)

Onward Christian Soldiers
Onward Christian Soldiers

Our key Bible passage is 1 Corinthians 15:1-4:

Moreover, brethren, I declare unto you the gospel which I preached unto you, which also ye have received, and wherein ye stand; By which also ye are saved, if ye keep in memory what I preached unto you, unless ye have believed in vain. For I delivered unto you first of all that which I also received, how that Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures; And that he was buried, and that he rose again the third day according to the scriptures:


Our lesson today is titled “Leading Souls to Christ, Part 6”

Today, we are going to look at some DO’s and DON’T’s to keep in mind as your share the Gospel with others.

DO
always use your Bible when leading people to Christ. Even though you may be able to quote the verse, it is better to let the other person read it for themselves.

DON’T
use too many verses.

DO
look to God in prayer for the guidance of the Holy Spirit.

DON’T
interrupt people. Try to find out their problem, but don’t get side-tracked. Keep bringing them back to the matter of their relationship with the Lord Jesus.

DO
be earnest. This is no time for joking. Soul-winning is serious business.

DON’T
argue. God does not send us out to win arguments; He sends us out to win souls.

DO
be careful of your breath. Don’t offend people needlessly.

DO
admit it when you don’t know the answer to a question. Just say, “I don’t know the answer to that question, but I am sure there must be one. One thing I do know—Jesus Christ changed my life, and He will do the same for you.”

DO
value every person highly. We must see every person as one for whom Christ died. If we look down on, or despise any person, we are not worthy to be Christ’s servants.

DON’T
be discouraged. Some will reject the Saviour, but keep right on witnessing for Christ.

DO
be concerned. Jesus wept and prayed over lost souls, and so should we.

DO
encourage new converts to confess Christ to others and to join a Bible-believing church at the first opportunity.

In closing, one of the greatest hindrances to soul-winning is fear of people. We are afraid of what others will think.

A Christian who was a fearless soul-winner was asked if he had always been bold. He replied that he had once been as timid as anyone. One day he could stand it no longer. He fell on his knees with his Bible open at Psalm 34:4: “I sought the Lord and He heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.” He said, “Lord, You did this for David. Do it now for me.” God heard his prayer and answered it.

Ask God to do the same for you. You have the message that brings eternal life to people, and you must give it out boldly. When we are fearful of people, we make them bigger than the gospel message.

There are people all around you who need to be saved. Here are 5 things to keep in mind as you set out to win people to Jesus.

1. Begin now to pray for the people you will witness to.
2. Watch for an opportunity to witness to them.
3. Learn the four basic truths of the gospel.
4. Learn how to answer objections.
5. Be ready and God will use you.

Don’t be afraid of making a mistake. You will make the greatest mistake of all if you don’t try to win someone to Christ.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

If you do not know Jesus Christ as your Saviour, John 3:16 states, “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”

The Bible also says in Romans 10:9 and 13: “That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved…. For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.”

If you believe that Jesus Christ died on the cross for your sins, was buried, and rose from the dead, and you want to trust Him for your salvation today, please pray with me this simple prayer: Holy Father God, I realize that I am a sinner and that I have done some bad things in my life. I am sorry for my sins, and I want to turn from my sins. For Jesus Christ sake, please forgive me of my sins. I now believe with all of my heart that Jesus Christ died for me, was buried, and rose again. I trust Him as my Savior and follow Him as Lord from this day forward. Lord Jesus, please come into my heart and save my soul and change my life today. Amen.

If you just trusted Jesus Christ as your Saviour, and you prayed that prayer and meant it from your heart, I declare to you that based upon the Word of God, you are now saved from Hell and you are on your way to Heaven. Welcome to the family of God! I want to congratulate you on doing the most important thing in life and that is receiving Jesus Christ as your Lord and Saviour. For more information to help you grow in your newfound faith in Christ, go to Gospel Light Society.com and read “What To Do After You Enter Through the Door”. Jesus Christ said in John 10:9, “I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture.”

Until next time, May the Lord Bless You!

One thought on “Leading Souls to Christ, Part 6 (Onward Christian Soldiers #116)

Leave a comment