Russell Wilson: ‘I Chose the Number Three for My Jersey to Honor the Holy Trinity’ (Gospel Light Minute #83)

He is the starting quarterback for the Seattle Seahawks of the National Football League. He was selected by the Seahawks in the third round of the 2012 NFL Draft. He played college football for the University of Wisconsin during the 2011 season, in which he set the single season FBS record for passing efficiency and led the team to a Big Ten title and the 2012 Rose Bowl. He received the Big Ten Quarterback of the Year award and was named a consensus first-team All-Big Ten and third-team All-American by Yahoo! Sports. Before transferring to Wisconsin, he played football and baseball for North Carolina State University and was named the ACC Rookie of the Year in football and became the first freshman quarterback to receive first team All-ACC honors.

He is a devout Christian who frequently speaks of his faith in press conferences and interviews and posts daily encouragement from the Bible on his Twitter feed. He said that he chose the number three for his Seahawks jersey as a way of honoring the Holy Trinity.

He grew up in a family where faith in God was the foundation of their lives. His family members and former athletic director at North Carolina State University all say that he is strong and sincere in his faith. This strong faith was molded and strengthened during a time when his father was suffering from complications from diabetes and had suffered several strokes. He said that during this time, “I think of the Lord being there and that there is a time and place for everything.”

The day after he was drafted by the Colorado Rockies in June 2010, he, his mother, and his grandmother were called to the hospital for the final time. The doctors said his father was unresponsive. But after praying in the hallway, he says that they felt the Holy Spirit telling them to go in the hospital room. He went into the room and greeted his father for the last time. He said, “I walked in and I could see the EKG monitor. I said: ‘Hey, Dad, I’m here.’ As soon as I said that, the line went flat. That’s how I knew the Lord is real. I knew my dad heard me and he could hear everything I was telling him about how I got drafted. He was waiting for something great to happen. That’s how I knew he went in peace. He is here watching me right now.” His name is Russell Wilson.

Leave a comment