The Free State of Glory (Part 19)


TEXT: Revelation 21:23-27

23 And the city had no need of the sun, neither of the moon, to shine in it: for the glory of God did lighten it, and the Lamb is the light thereof.

24 And the nations of them which are saved shall walk in the light of it: and the kings of the earth do bring their glory and honour into it.

25 And the gates of it shall not be shut at all by day: for there shall be no night there.

26 And they shall bring the glory and honour of the nations into it.

27 And there shall in no wise enter into it any thing that defileth, neither whatsoever worketh abomination, or maketh a lie: but they which are written in the Lamb’s book of life.

The Free State of Glory (Part 19)

In our last message, we talked about the diverse members of Earth’s nations who will populate the New Jerusalem. Now, John points out that there will be some kings of the earth who will bring their “glory and honor” into the light of this eternal city. Although, in societies today, the realms of government and religion are separate and often adversarial, we see in this passage that there are some governmental leaders who will willingly bow the knee to Jesus Christ, as all people will one day.

The reference to the kings bringing their “glory and honor” into the New Jerusalem, is similar to the practice of Old Testament times; when one king visited another, he would not go empty-handed. He would bring some of the best products from his land to give to the king whom he was visiting. When the Queen of Sheba visited King Solomon, she “came to Jerusalem with a very great train, with camels that bare spices, and very much gold, and precious stones. And she gave the king an hundred and twenty talents of gold, and of spices very great store, and precious stones.” Even today, heads of state, when they visit each other often exchange gifts. Like the Wise Men of the first century, whom some believe were actually kings or some type of government officials, who brought gold, frankincense, and myrrh to the newborn Jesus, the kings of our world will bring all the trappings of their prestige and lay it before the King of Kings. Matthew Poole said, “Such kings of the earth as shall come into heaven shall see all their honour and glory swallowed up in the glory and honour of that place and state. They shall confess that all their crowns are infinitely short of this blessed and glorious crown, all their thrones nothing to these thrones.”

This passage also reminds us of God’s Word which says that He alone “changeth the times and the seasons: he removeth kings, and setteth up kings.” Despite the discontent that we have today regarding those in power, at the end of this world, all power will be where it belongs — in the hands of Jesus Christ. He will institute a perfect government with true liberty and justice for all. Even the “kings” of this world will recognize it and submit to His rule.

This passage also reminds us that the world we live in does not belong to the powers that be, such as they are. It belongs to God and God alone. Although the devil and wicked “kings” have messed up this world for everyone in it, it is still owned by God. He will one day make everything right. For now, we would do well to remind ourselves that “this is my Father’s world.” As Maltbie D. Babcock wrote:

This is my Father’s world,
And to my listening ears
All nature sings, and round me rings
The music of the spheres.
This is my Father’s world:
I rest me in the thought
Of rocks and trees, of skies and seas–
His hand the wonders wrought.

This is my Father’s world:
The birds their carols raise,
The morning light, the lily white,
Declare their Maker’s praise.
This is my Father’s world:
He shines in all that’s fair;
In the rustling grass I hear Him pass,
He speaks to me everywhere.

This is my Father’s world:
O let me ne’er forget
That though the wrong seems oft so strong,
God is the Ruler yet.
This is my Father’s world:
Why should my heart be sad?
The Lord is King: let the heavens ring!
God reigns; let earth be glad!

If you want to join Jesus Christ, the multitude of people, and the kings who will walk in the light of the beautiful New Jerusalem, allow me to share with you how you can place your faith and trust in Jesus Christ for salvation from sin and the punishment of sin:

First, accept the fact that you are a sinner, and that you have broken God’s law. The Bible says in Romans 3:23: “For all have sinned and come short of the glory of God.”

Second, accept the fact that there is a penalty for sin. The Bible states in Romans 6:23: “For the wages of sin is death…”

Third, accept the fact that you are on the road to hell. Jesus Christ said in Matthew 10:28: “And fear not them which kill the body, but are not able to kill the soul: but rather fear him which is able to destroy both soul and body in hell.” Also, the Bible states in Revelation 21:8: “But the fearful, and unbelieving, and the abominable, and murderers, and whoremongers and sorcerers, and idolaters, and all liars, shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone: which is the second death.”

Now that is bad news, but here’s the good news. Jesus Christ said in John 3:16: “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” Just believe in your heart that Jesus Christ died for your sins, was buried, and rose from the dead by the power of God for you so that you can live eternally with Him. Pray and ask Him to come into your heart today, and He will.

Romans 10:9 & 13 says, “That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved… For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.”

If you believe that Jesus Christ died on the cross for your sins, was buried, and rose from the dead, and you want to trust Him for your salvation today, please pray with me this simple prayer: Holy Father God, I realize that I am a sinner and that I have done some bad things in my life. I am sorry for my sins, and today I choose to turn from my sins. For Jesus Christ sake, please forgive me of my sins. I believe with all of my heart that Jesus Christ died for me, was buried, and rose again. I trust Jesus Christ as my Savior and I choose to follow Him as Lord from this day forward. Lord Jesus, please come into my heart and save my soul and change my life today. Amen.

If you just trusted Jesus Christ as your Saviour, and you prayed that prayer and meant it from your heart, I declare to you that based upon the Word of God, you are now saved from Hell and you are on your way to Heaven. Welcome to the family of God! Congratulations on doing the most important thing in life and that is receiving Jesus Christ as your Lord and Saviour. For more information to help you grow in your newfound faith in Christ, go to Gospel Light Society.com and read “What To Do After You Enter Through the Door.” Jesus Christ said in John 10:9, “I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture.”

God loves you. We love you. And may God bless you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

