Jesus Is the Light for Your Life, Part 12 (Just Jesus Evangelistic Campaign, Day 112)

JJMessage


TEXT: John 8:12-40

12 Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.

13 The Pharisees therefore said unto him, Thou bearest record of thyself; thy record is not true.

14 Jesus answered and said unto them, Though I bear record of myself, yet my record is true: for I know whence I came, and whither I go; but ye cannot tell whence I come, and whither I go.

15 Ye judge after the flesh; I judge no man.

16 And yet if I judge, my judgment is true: for I am not alone, but I and the Father that sent me.

17 It is also written in your law, that the testimony of two men is true.

18 I am one that bear witness of myself, and the Father that sent me beareth witness of me.

19 Then said they unto him, Where is thy Father? Jesus answered, Ye neither know me, nor my Father: if ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also.

20 These words spake Jesus in the treasury, as he taught in the temple: and no man laid hands on him; for his hour was not yet come.

21 Then said Jesus again unto them, I go my way, and ye shall seek me, and shall die in your sins: whither I go, ye cannot come.

22 Then said the Jews, Will he kill himself? because he saith, Whither I go, ye cannot come.

23 And he said unto them, Ye are from beneath; I am from above: ye are of this world; I am not of this world.

24 I said therefore unto you, that ye shall die in your sins: for if ye believe not that I am he, ye shall die in your sins.

25 Then said they unto him, Who art thou? And Jesus saith unto them, Even the same that I said unto you from the beginning.

26 I have many things to say and to judge of you: but he that sent me is true; and I speak to the world those things which I have heard of him.

27 They understood not that he spake to them of the Father.

28 Then said Jesus unto them, When ye have lifted up the Son of man, then shall ye know that I am he, and that I do nothing of myself; but as my Father hath taught me, I speak these things.

29 And he that sent me is with me: the Father hath not left me alone; for I do always those things that please him.

30 As he spake these words, many believed on him.

31 Then said Jesus to those Jews which believed on him, If ye continue in my word, then are ye my disciples indeed;

32 And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.

33 They answered him, We be Abraham’s seed, and were never in bondage to any man: how sayest thou, Ye shall be made free?

34 Jesus answered them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Whosoever committeth sin is the servant of sin.

35 And the servant abideth not in the house for ever: but the Son abideth ever.

36 If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed.

37 I know that ye are Abraham’s seed; but ye seek to kill me, because my word hath no place in you.

38 I speak that which I have seen with my Father: and ye do that which ye have seen with your father.

39 They answered and said unto him, Abraham is our father. Jesus saith unto them, If ye were Abraham’s children, ye would do the works of Abraham.

40 But now ye seek to kill me, a man that hath told you the truth, which I have heard of God: this did not Abraham.

———-

Today, I am continuing the daily Just Jesus Evangelistic Campaign sermon series, which is aimed at sharing the Gospel of the Lord Jesus Christ with unbelievers and reminding Christians, in this important election year, to keep the main thing the main thing — and that is reaching unbelievers with the Gospel of the Lord Jesus Christ and praying for their salvation, for the problem in America is not only disobedient presidents, politicians, and people, but disobedient pastors, preachers, and parishioners who have refused to obey the Lord’s Great Commission which is to, “Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.” and who have refused to obey God’s repeated commands to “pray without ceasing” for unbelievers, believers, and political leaders. Yes, you should pray for the right candidate to win; yes, you should vote for the candidate that the Lord gives you peace about voting for. But, don’t get caught up in it like the world does. Nothing much is going to change until people get saved and get their hearts right with the Lord.

This campaign is inspired by the following three verses: 1 Corinthians 2:2 which says, “For I determined not to know anything among you, save Jesus Christ, and him crucified.” Acts 5:42 which says, “And daily in the temple, and in every house, they ceased not to teach and preach Jesus Christ.” And 2 Timothy 2:4 which says, “No man that warreth entangleth himself with the affairs of this life; that he may please him who hath chosen him to be a soldier.”

This series is not for Christians necessarily. However, I do hope you are one of those saints who still loves to hear the “Old, old story of Jesus and His love” — As another hymn says, “For those who know it best Seem hungering and thirsting to hear it like the rest.” This series is primarily for unbelievers, so they can hear and understand the Gospel and be saved from sin and the punishment of sin which is hell. This is message number 112.

M.R. DeHaan said, “Why God should choose the meanest, basest, most unworthy individuals with absolutely nothing to commend them at all to God, except their miserable, lost condition, and then exalt them to become the sons of God, members of the divine family, and use them for His glory, is beyond all reason and human understanding. Yet that is grace.”

Jesus is still at odds with the Jews who say they have no need to be free. He has told them that the freedom He offers is not political freedom, but spiritual freedom — freedom from the bondage of sin. However, this causes them to recoil even further. They had told Him previously, “We be Abraham’s seed.” They thought that being the descendants of Abraham made them righteous like Abraham was. However, Jesus shows them that the truth is found not in their lineage, but in their actions.

He says, “I know that ye are Abraham’s seed; but ye seek to kill me…” The Jews were descendants of Abraham physically, but not spiritually. They did not carry with them the spirit of Abraham who obeyed God, followed God, and received the messengers of God when they were sent to Him. These Jews were trying to kill the Son of God. Thus, they could not be spiritual children of Abraham.

Jesus, speaking as God, says, ‘you are trying to kill me because my word hath no place in you.’ More than anything else, the Jews valued the word of God and the words of their forefathers. Many of the religious leaders spent their lifetime studying it. They believed that they could gain eternal life simply by studying God’s word. But, Jesus says we must not simply study God’s word in order to have eternal life; rather, we must abide in God’s word in order to have eternal life. The Jews, as evidenced by their murderous intentions toward Jesus, were not abiding in the Word, for the word says, ‘Thou shalt not kill.’ The fact that they wanted to kill Jesus was proof that they were in bondage to sin.

Jesus continues, ” I speak that which I have seen with my Father: and ye do that which ye have seen with your father.” All along Jesus has claimed that God is His Father; here He hints that the father of the Jews is someone else — someone other than God. Jesus will soon tell them plainly who that person is, but you can sense the Jews bristling at this suggestion. ‘Abraham is our father. [And] Jesus saith unto them, If ye were Abraham’s children, ye would do the works of Abraham.’

The Jews liked to point out that they were descendants of the great spiritual giants of the Old Testament. But Jesus shows them that their status is determined by more than a birth according to blood; it is most importantly determined by a spiritual birth. Jesus says Abraham is not their spiritual father because “now ye seek to kill me, a man that hath told you the truth, which I have heard of God: this did not Abraham.”

The Jews were blind and bound, but they didn’t know it. They had deceived themselves into thinking that they were righteous and holy. They thought they had eternal life by nature of their lineage. But their lifestyle spoke of a people who were slaves to sin and Satan.

Many today are just like that. They consider themselves to be good people. If Jesus came to them and told them that they are slaves to sin, they would laugh at Him. They would say, ‘I do all these good things. I’m so-and-so’s son or daughter. I follow this wise person’s teachings.’ But Jesus is looking at more than the words that come out of their mouth. He is looking at their hearts. And their hearts, like the hearts of all people, are ‘deceitful and desperately wicked.’

Only those who humble themselves before God and admit the true condition of their hearts can be made free from their bondage to sin and Satan. Only this truth can set someone on the path to real freedom. Here is how you can accept the freedom that Jesus Christ offers you today.

In other words, the Son of God can free you from your slavery and make you sons and daughters of God as well.

If you are ready to have the cleansing, transformative blood of Christ poured over your heart and life… If you are ready to let the Son set you free so you can be free indeed, allow me to share with you how you can receive Jesus Christ as your Savior.

First, as we have just discussed, please understand that you are a sinner and that you have broken God’s laws. The Bible says in Romans 3:23: “For all have sinned and come short of the glory of God.” Please understand that because of your sins, you deserve punishment in hell. Romans 6:23 says “the wages of sin is death…” This is both physical death and spiritual death in hell.

But here is the good news. John 3:16 reads, “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”

The phrase “For God so loved the world” means that if you are in this world, God loves you no matter what you have done.

The next phrase, “that He gave His only begotten Son” refers to Jesus Christ. He is God’s son who suffered, bled, and died on the cross for your sins and for mine, and He was buried and rose again.

Our next phrase is “that whosoever believeth in Him”. The word “whosoever” means anybody at anytime. The phrase “believeth in Him” means to trust in Him, to depend upon Him, to rely on Him, or to have faith in Him for your salvation.

Our next phrase, “should not perish”, refers to eternal punishment in a place called hell.

And, lastly, the phrase “but have everlasting life” means to live eternally in Heaven with God.

The Bible also says in Romans 10:9 and 13: “That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved…. For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.”

Dear friend, if you are willing to believe on the Lord Jesus Christ for salvation, please pray with me this simple prayer: Heavenly Father, I realize that I am a sinner and that I have done some bad things in my life. For Jesus Christ sake, please forgive me of my sins. I now believe with all of my heart that Jesus Christ died for me, was buried, and rose again. Lord Jesus, please come into my heart and save my soul and change my life today. Amen.

If you believed in your heart that Jesus Christ died on the cross, was buried, and rose again, allow me to say, congratulations on doing the most important thing in life and that is accepting Jesus Christ as your Lord and Saviour! For more information to help you grow in your newfound faith in Christ, go to Gospel Light Society.com and read “What To Do After You Enter Through the Door”. Jesus Christ said in John 10:9, “I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture.”

If you accepted Jesus Christ as your Savior today, please e-mail me at dw3@gospellightsociety.com and let us know. There is some free material that we want to send you. If you have a prayer request, please e-mail that to us as well, and we will pray for you until you tell us to stop.

God loves you. We love you. And may God bless you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

