Jesus Is the Light for Your Life, Part 11 (Just Jesus Evangelistic Campaign, Day 111)

JJMessage


TEXT: John 8:12-36

12 Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.

13 The Pharisees therefore said unto him, Thou bearest record of thyself; thy record is not true.

14 Jesus answered and said unto them, Though I bear record of myself, yet my record is true: for I know whence I came, and whither I go; but ye cannot tell whence I come, and whither I go.

15 Ye judge after the flesh; I judge no man.

16 And yet if I judge, my judgment is true: for I am not alone, but I and the Father that sent me.

17 It is also written in your law, that the testimony of two men is true.

18 I am one that bear witness of myself, and the Father that sent me beareth witness of me.

19 Then said they unto him, Where is thy Father? Jesus answered, Ye neither know me, nor my Father: if ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also.

20 These words spake Jesus in the treasury, as he taught in the temple: and no man laid hands on him; for his hour was not yet come.

21 Then said Jesus again unto them, I go my way, and ye shall seek me, and shall die in your sins: whither I go, ye cannot come.

22 Then said the Jews, Will he kill himself? because he saith, Whither I go, ye cannot come.

23 And he said unto them, Ye are from beneath; I am from above: ye are of this world; I am not of this world.

24 I said therefore unto you, that ye shall die in your sins: for if ye believe not that I am he, ye shall die in your sins.

25 Then said they unto him, Who art thou? And Jesus saith unto them, Even the same that I said unto you from the beginning.

26 I have many things to say and to judge of you: but he that sent me is true; and I speak to the world those things which I have heard of him.

27 They understood not that he spake to them of the Father.

28 Then said Jesus unto them, When ye have lifted up the Son of man, then shall ye know that I am he, and that I do nothing of myself; but as my Father hath taught me, I speak these things.

29 And he that sent me is with me: the Father hath not left me alone; for I do always those things that please him.

30 As he spake these words, many believed on him.

31 Then said Jesus to those Jews which believed on him, If ye continue in my word, then are ye my disciples indeed;

32 And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.

33 They answered him, We be Abraham’s seed, and were never in bondage to any man: how sayest thou, Ye shall be made free?

34 Jesus answered them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Whosoever committeth sin is the servant of sin.

35 And the servant abideth not in the house for ever: but the Son abideth ever.

36 If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed.

———-

Today, I am continuing the daily Just Jesus Evangelistic Campaign sermon series, which is aimed at sharing the Gospel of the Lord Jesus Christ with unbelievers and reminding Christians, in this important election year, to keep the main thing the main thing — and that is reaching unbelievers with the Gospel of the Lord Jesus Christ and praying for their salvation, for the problem in America is not only disobedient presidents, politicians, and people, but disobedient pastors, preachers, and parishioners who have refused to obey the Lord’s Great Commission which is to, “Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.” and who have refused to obey God’s repeated commands to “pray without ceasing” for unbelievers, believers, and political leaders. Yes, you should pray for the right candidate to win; yes, you should vote for the candidate that the Lord gives you peace about voting for. But, don’t get caught up in it like the world does. Nothing much is going to change until people get saved and get their hearts right with the Lord.

This campaign is inspired by the following three verses: 1 Corinthians 2:2 which says, “For I determined not to know anything among you, save Jesus Christ, and him crucified.” Acts 5:42 which says, “And daily in the temple, and in every house, they ceased not to teach and preach Jesus Christ.” And 2 Timothy 2:4 which says, “No man that warreth entangleth himself with the affairs of this life; that he may please him who hath chosen him to be a soldier.”

This series is not for Christians necessarily. However, I do hope you are one of those saints who still loves to hear the “Old, old story of Jesus and His love” — As another hymn says, “For those who know it best Seem hungering and thirsting to hear it like the rest.” This series is primarily for unbelievers, so they can hear and understand the Gospel and be saved from sin and the punishment of sin which is hell. This is message number 111.

Thomas Watson said, “To serve God, to love God, to enjoy God, is the sweetest freedom in the world.”

After Jesus states that belief in Him and the decision to continue in His word is the way to true spiritual freedom, the Jews respond by basically saying, ‘We don’t need your freedom because we’re not in bondage.’ “They answered him, We be Abraham’s seed, and were never in bondage to any man: how sayest thou, Ye shall be made free?”

Of course, this is an absurd statement because the Jews had very often been in bondage. Their ancestors had been in bondage to the Egyptians for 400 years. Throughout history, the Jewish people had been subjugated by the Philistines, the Babylonians, the Persians, and the Syrians. Even now as they spoke to Jesus, they were under the authority of the Romans. Yet they considered themselves to be free. They say, we ‘were never in bondage to any man.’ Because they do not realize they are in bondage, they see no need for this freedom that Jesus speaks of.

But Jesus is not just talking about physical, political, or economic slavery. He is talking about spiritual slavery. “Jesus answered them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Whosoever committeth sin is the servant of sin.” The word “committeth” indicates continuous action. All of us have sinned repeatedly at one time or another in our lives. Thus, at some point, we were servants to sin. The people Jesus is talking to right now have not received the freedom that He offers, thus they too are servants to sin. The word translated “servant” is much stronger in the Greek text. It literally means “a slave, a bondman, a man of servile condition.”

All have sinned, thus all are slaves to sin. One might think that he is free because Satan will deceive him into thinking that he is making his sinful decisions entirely on his own. Have you ever tried to help a person who has an addiction? Many will say that they don’t need help. They will say, ‘I can stop whenever I want to.’ But they never stop. They have become slaves to sin. Only a supernatural spiritual transformation can open their eyes, break their chains, and set them free.

The problem with being a slave to sin is that your master, Satan, does not care for you. He is at war with God, and you are just a pawn in his diabolical game. He wants to keep you prisoner, to hold you hostage, only because he is keeping you back from God. Listen to what Jesus says: “the servant [slave] abideth not in the house for ever: but the Son abideth ever.”

In the ancient near east, a slave had no rights. He could be sold at any time. He had no inheritance in the family. He served and lived only at his master’s pleasure. A son, on the other hand, had a place in the family forever. When the head of the household died, the son would receive an inheritance and continue as a member of the family. The slaves were dispensable.

Jesus’ challenge to the religious leaders is this: Do you want to remain slaves? Or do you want to become sons?

Notice how the word “Son” is capitalized in our English Bibles. Scholars believe that Jesus is not only referring to sons metaphorically, but He is referring to Himself as the Son of God. As God’s Son, Jesus is saying that He is not only one with the Father now, but He will be One with the Father forever. He abides in the Father’s house forever. Thus, His next statement is even more glorious: “If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed.” In other words, the Son of God can free you from your slavery and make you sons and daughters of God as well.

You can be free from slavery to sin and Satan today, but you must believe on the Lord Jesus Christ and receive the emancipation that He won by the shedding of His blood on the cross. As the hymn says…

Would you be free from your burden of sin?
There’s power in the blood, power in the blood;
Would you over evil a victory win?
There’s wonderful power in the blood.

Would you be free from your passion and pride?
There’s power in the blood, power in the blood;
Come for a cleansing to Calvary’s tide,
There’s wonderful power in the blood.

If you are ready to have the cleansing, transformative blood of Christ set you free… If you are ready to let the Son of God set you free so you can be free indeed, allow me to share with you how you can receive Jesus Christ as your Savior.

First, accept the fact that you are a sinner, and that you have broken God’s law. The Bible says in Romans 3:23: “For all have sinned and come short of the glory of God.”

Second, accept the fact that there is a penalty for sin. The Bible states in Romans 6:23: “For the wages of sin is death…”

Third, accept the fact that you are on the road to hell. Jesus Christ said in Matthew 10:28: “And fear not them which kill the body, but are not able to kill the soul: but rather fear him which is able to destroy both soul and body in hell.” Also, the Bible states in Revelation 21:8: “But the fearful, and unbelieving, and the abominable, and murderers, and whoremongers and sorcerers, and idolaters, and all liars, shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone: which is the second death.”

Now that is bad news, but here’s the good news. Jesus Christ said in John 3:16: “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” Just believe in your heart that Jesus Christ died for your sins, was buried, and rose from the dead by the power of God for you so that you can live eternally with Him. Pray and ask Him to come into your heart today, and He will.

Romans 10:9 & 13 says, “That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved… For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.”

Dear friend, if you are willing to believe on the Lord Jesus Christ for salvation, please pray with me this simple prayer: Heavenly Father, I realize that I am a sinner and that I have done some bad things in my life. For Jesus Christ sake, please forgive me of my sins. I now believe with all of my heart that Jesus Christ died for me, was buried, and rose again. Lord Jesus, please come into my heart and save my soul and change my life today. Amen.

If you believed in your heart that Jesus Christ died on the cross, was buried, and rose again, allow me to say, congratulations on doing the most important thing in life and that is accepting Jesus Christ as your Lord and Saviour! For more information to help you grow in your newfound faith in Christ, go to Gospel Light Society.com and read “What To Do After You Enter Through the Door”. Jesus Christ said in John 10:9, “I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture.”

If you accepted Jesus Christ as your Savior today, please e-mail me at dw3@gospellightsociety.com and let us know. There is some free material that we want to send you. If you have a prayer request, please e-mail that to us as well, and we will pray for you until you tell us to stop.

God loves you. We love you. And may God bless you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

