Jesus is the Light for Your Life, Part 8 (Just Jesus Evangelistic Campaign, Day 108)

JJMessage


TEXT: John 8:12-30

12 Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.

13 The Pharisees therefore said unto him, Thou bearest record of thyself; thy record is not true.

14 Jesus answered and said unto them, Though I bear record of myself, yet my record is true: for I know whence I came, and whither I go; but ye cannot tell whence I come, and whither I go.

15 Ye judge after the flesh; I judge no man.

16 And yet if I judge, my judgment is true: for I am not alone, but I and the Father that sent me.

17 It is also written in your law, that the testimony of two men is true.

18 I am one that bear witness of myself, and the Father that sent me beareth witness of me.

19 Then said they unto him, Where is thy Father? Jesus answered, Ye neither know me, nor my Father: if ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also.

20 These words spake Jesus in the treasury, as he taught in the temple: and no man laid hands on him; for his hour was not yet come.

21 Then said Jesus again unto them, I go my way, and ye shall seek me, and shall die in your sins: whither I go, ye cannot come.

22 Then said the Jews, Will he kill himself? because he saith, Whither I go, ye cannot come.

23 And he said unto them, Ye are from beneath; I am from above: ye are of this world; I am not of this world.

24 I said therefore unto you, that ye shall die in your sins: for if ye believe not that I am he, ye shall die in your sins.

25 Then said they unto him, Who art thou? And Jesus saith unto them, Even the same that I said unto you from the beginning.

26 I have many things to say and to judge of you: but he that sent me is true; and I speak to the world those things which I have heard of him.

27 They understood not that he spake to them of the Father.

28 Then said Jesus unto them, When ye have lifted up the Son of man, then shall ye know that I am he, and that I do nothing of myself; but as my Father hath taught me, I speak these things.

29 And he that sent me is with me: the Father hath not left me alone; for I do always those things that please him.

30 As he spake these words, many believed on him.

———-

Today, I am continuing the daily Just Jesus Evangelistic Campaign sermon series, which is aimed at sharing the Gospel of the Lord Jesus Christ with unbelievers and reminding Christians, in this important election year, to keep the main thing the main thing — and that is reaching unbelievers with the Gospel of the Lord Jesus Christ and praying for their salvation, for the problem in America is not only disobedient presidents, politicians, and people, but disobedient pastors, preachers, and parishioners who have refused to obey the Lord’s Great Commission which is to, “Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.” and who have refused to obey God’s repeated commands to “pray without ceasing” for unbelievers, believers, and political leaders. Yes, you should pray for the right candidate to win; yes, you should vote for the candidate that the Lord gives you peace about voting for. But, don’t get caught up in it like the world does. Nothing much is going to change until people get saved and get their hearts right with the Lord.

This campaign is inspired by the following three verses: 1 Corinthians 2:2 which says, “For I determined not to know anything among you, save Jesus Christ, and him crucified.” Acts 5:42 which says, “And daily in the temple, and in every house, they ceased not to teach and preach Jesus Christ.” And 2 Timothy 2:4 which says, “No man that warreth entangleth himself with the affairs of this life; that he may please him who hath chosen him to be a soldier.”

This series is not for Christians necessarily. However, I do hope you are one of those saints who still loves to hear the “Old, old story of Jesus and His love” — As another hymn says, “For those who know it best Seem hungering and thirsting to hear it like the rest.” This series is primarily for unbelievers, so they can hear and understand the Gospel and be saved from sin and the punishment of sin which is hell. This is message number 108.

Charles Spurgeon said, “Christ so died that He infallibly secured the salvation of a multitude that no man can number, who through Christ’s death not only may be saved, but are saved, must be saved, and cannot by any possibility run the hazard of being anything but saved.”

Jesus continues addressing the questions of the religious leaders regarding His nature. They want to know who He is, but they refuse to accept what He tells them about Himself. However, Jesus says there will come a time when they will realize who He is — whether they choose to believe it or not — and it will be because of something that they themselves have a hand in.

He says, “When ye have lifted up the Son of man, then shall ye know that I am he, and that I do nothing of myself; but as my Father hath taught me, I speak these things. And he that sent me is with me: the Father hath not left me alone; for I do always those things that please him.”

The lifting up that Jesus is talking about here is not His being exalted or glorified; rather, it is His being lifted up from the earth on the cross — an event which the Jewish religious leaders would push to make happen. Jesus tells these leaders that when they have finally accomplished their goal of seeing Him crucified, that is when they will realize that He is who He says He is. How can this be? Well, all along, Jesus has been telling them that He only does the will of God, His Father. They, of course, find that hard to believe — even blasphemous. (Why would God tell any man to claim that he is God?) But, the real test of Jesus’ obedience is the cross. It is one thing to say that you are doing the will of God when you are preaching, teaching, and working miracles, and the masses are in love with you. It is one thing to say you are obeying God when your time to die has not yet come. It is another thing entirely to obey God when you are being flogged, when you have been forsaken by your disciples, and when the people who once praised you are chanting, ‘Crucify Him! Crucify Him!’

If Jesus was just a man, He would have surely renounced His claims of divinity and his challenges to the religious leadership in the face of such torture and death. But He didn’t for three reasons.

First, He was speaking the words of God. Jesus says, “As my Father hath taught me, I speak these things.” ‘I’m only saying what God says. God cannot lie. I am one with God, therefore I cannot lie. I am only speaking the truth.’ A man who knows and believes that what he is saying is true will not stop saying it no matter what the consequences are.

Second, He was doing the work of God. Jesus says, “I do always those things that please” the Father. Jesus was doing the right thing — even on the cross. He was doing what He had been called to do. Therefore, He would not start doing a wrong thing by ceasing to do the good that He was doing.

Third, He had not been abandoned by God. Jesus says, “He that sent me is with me: the Father hath not left me alone.” Jesus knew that God would always be with Him. That is partly what gave Him strength as He went to the cross. A man who is all alone is more likely to give up when faced with adversity than one who knows that God is with him.

Jesus’ words rang true in the hearts and minds of many who listened. The Bible says, “As he spake these words, many believed on him.” These were people who did not wait until He was being crucified before they believed. Jesus’ words, which agreed with God’s Spirit and God’s will, were enough to convince them that Jesus was who He said He was.

You have the benefit of the cross — the death, the burial, and the resurrection of Jesus Christ. You can look back on those events as recorded in Scripture and evidenced in history and see a man who spoke God’s words, did God’s work, and knew that God was with Him to the very end. After hearing the testimony of Jesus, will you be one of those who believes on Him?

First, accept the fact that you are a sinner, and that you have broken God’s law. The Bible says in Romans 3:23: “For all have sinned and come short of the glory of God.”

Second, accept the fact that there is a penalty for sin. The Bible states in Romans 6:23: “For the wages of sin is death…”

Third, accept the fact that you are on the road to hell. Jesus Christ said in Matthew 10:28: “And fear not them which kill the body, but are not able to kill the soul: but rather fear him which is able to destroy both soul and body in hell.” Also, the Bible states in Revelation 21:8: “But the fearful, and unbelieving, and the abominable, and murderers, and whoremongers and sorcerers, and idolaters, and all liars, shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone: which is the second death.”

Now that is bad news, but here’s the good news. Jesus Christ said in John 3:16: “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” Just believe in your heart that Jesus Christ died for your sins, was buried, and rose from the dead by the power of God for you so that you can live eternally with Him. Pray and ask Him to come into your heart today, and He will.

Romans 10:9 & 13 says, “That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved… For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.”

Dear friend, if you are willing to believe on the Lord Jesus Christ for salvation, please pray with me this simple prayer: Heavenly Father, I realize that I am a sinner and that I have done some bad things in my life. For Jesus Christ sake, please forgive me of my sins. I now believe with all of my heart that Jesus Christ died for me, was buried, and rose again. Lord Jesus, please come into my heart and save my soul and change my life today. Amen.

If you believed in your heart that Jesus Christ died on the cross, was buried, and rose again, allow me to say, congratulations on doing the most important thing in life and that is accepting Jesus Christ as your Lord and Saviour! For more information to help you grow in your newfound faith in Christ, go to Gospel Light Society.com and read “What To Do After You Enter Through the Door”. Jesus Christ said in John 10:9, “I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture.”

If you accepted Jesus Christ as your Savior today, please e-mail me at dw3@gospellightsociety.com and let us know. There is some free material that we want to send you. If you have a prayer request, please e-mail that to us as well, and we will pray for you until you tell us to stop.

God loves you. We love you. And may God bless you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

