Leading Souls to Christ, Part 1 (Onward Christian Soldiers #111)

Onward Christian Soldiers

Onward Christian Soldiers


Our key Bible passage is 1 Corinthians 15:1-4: Moreover, brethren, I declare unto you the gospel which I preached unto you, which also ye have received, and wherein ye stand; By which also ye are saved, if ye keep in memory what I preached unto you, unless ye have believed in vain. For I delivered unto you first of all that which I also received, how that Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures; And that he was buried, and that he rose again the third day according to the scriptures:

Our lesson today is titled “Leading Souls to Christ, Part 1”

One of the greatest joys that we can have as Christians is the joy of leading someone to Christ. You and I can be God’s instruments in the salvation of others.

Who can have the privilege of leading people to Christ? Any believer! This is not the work of just a few select people. Every Christian is called upon to witness for Christ, and every Christian can be a soul-winner. The Lord Jesus said, “Follow Me, and I will make you fishers of men.”

Why is it so important to learn how to win others to Christ? Because of the value of a human soul. The human soul is of great value because it will live forever. Every person you meet has a soul that will live forever—either in the blessings of Heaven or in the miseries of hell. The Bible says in John 3:36, “He that believeth on the Son hath everlasting life: and he that believeth not the Son shall not see life; but the wrath of God abideth on him.”

God values the souls of men so highly that He sent His Son to die on the cross that men might be saved. When we see how precious all men are to God, we will do all we can to win them to Christ.

In this lesson series we are going to learn how to lead others to Christ.

First, to win souls, we must know how to use the Word of God. Just as a doctor does not give the same prescription to every patient, so the same verse will not meet the need of every person. You must have a good working knowledge of the Bible.

In our last lesson we learned how to obtain a working knowledge of the Bible. Are you reading your Bible daily? Are you memorizing Scripture? Have you established your Quiet Time? Do not neglect these things if you want to win souls.

Second, if we are to be soul-winners, we need something else: we need the power of God. The soul-winner’s power comes from the Holy Spirit. When the Lord Jesus commanded His disciples to preach the gospel to every creature, He also promised them the power of the Holy Spirit. He said, “But ye shall receive power, after that the Holy Ghost is come upon you: and ye shall be witnesses unto me both in Jerusalem, and in all Judaea, and in Samaria, and unto the uttermost part of the earth.” On the day of Pentecost, the disciples were filled with the Holy Spirit. Peter stood up and preached in the power of the Holy Spirit and approximately 3,000 souls were saved.

Today, EVERY believer has the Holy Spirit dwelling in him. It is the Holy Spirit who convicts people of sin; it is the Holy Spirit who shows people their need of a Saviour; and it is the Holy Spirit who reveals Christ to them. Ask God to fill you with the Holy Spirit so that you can be an effective soul-winner.

Third, We Must Give People the GOSPEL. The soul-winner’s message is the gospel. The word “gospel” means “good news” and the good news is that Christ died for our sins and rose again to be our living Saviour. In First Corinthians 15, Paul said, “Moreover, brethren, I declare unto you the gospel which I preached unto you, which also ye have received, and wherein ye stand… For I delivered unto you first of all that which I also received, how that Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures; And that he was buried, and that he rose again the third day according to the scriptures.”

There are four basic truths in the gospel message:

1. The fact of sin — all people are sinners.

2. The penalty of sin — all people are destined to die and go to Hell because of their sins.

3. Christ paid the penalty of sin — on the cross, He suffered our punishment in our place.

4. We must receive Christ in order to be saved from sin and the penalty of sin.

Get these four facts firmly fixed in your mind, because you will use them in leading souls to Christ.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

If you do not know Jesus Christ as your Saviour, John 3:16 states, “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”

The Bible also says in Romans 10:9 and 13: “That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved…. For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.”

If you believe that Jesus Christ died on the cross for your sins, was buried, and rose from the dead, and you want to trust Him for your salvation today, please pray with me this simple prayer: Holy Father God, I realize that I am a sinner and that I have done some bad things in my life. I am sorry for my sins, and I want to turn from my sins. For Jesus Christ sake, please forgive me of my sins. I now believe with all of my heart that Jesus Christ died for me, was buried, and rose again. I trust Him as my Savior and follow Him as Lord from this day forward. Lord Jesus, please come into my heart and save my soul and change my life today. Amen.

If you just trusted Jesus Christ as your Saviour, and you prayed that prayer and meant it from your heart, I declare to you that based upon the Word of God, you are now saved from Hell and you are on your way to Heaven. Welcome to the family of God! I want to congratulate you on doing the most important thing in life and that is receiving Jesus Christ as your Lord and Saviour. For more information to help you grow in your newfound faith in Christ, go to Gospel Light Society.com and read “What To Do After You Enter Through the Door”. Jesus Christ said in John 10:9, “I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture.”

Until next time, May the Lord Bless You!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

