The Law and the Christian Life, Part 3 (Onward Christian Soldiers #93)

Onward Christian Soldiers

Onward Christian Soldiers


Our key Bible passage today is Galatians 2:20: “I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.”

Our lesson today is titled “The Law and the Christian Life, Part 3”

In our last lesson, we learned that under the law, we failed to keep God’s righteous requirements. Now the Lord Jesus Christ has come to live in us, and He says, “I will fulfill the law in you.”

Let’s see how this works. We know that the law commands us to love others. This command of God is good and right, but I have not been able to keep it. Now Christ has come to live in me. Does He love other people? Yes, He does. He died for them, too. When Christ’s love dwells richly in my heart, I shall love even my enemies. What the law could not do by commanding me from without, Christ does in me.

In Galatians 2:20, the Apostle Paul told us how to live the Christian life. Here is what he said: “I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.”

The fact that we were crucified with Christ is the basis for victory over every enemy in the Christian life. By our death, burial, and resurrection with Christ, we have been delivered from the power of sin, Self, the flesh, the world, and Satan. This is our standing in Christ, and we must count on it. Remember: “It is no longer I who lives, but Christ who lives in me.” God had a great purpose in crucifying us with Christ. He did this in order that our old self-life might be brought to an end SO THAT CHRIST MIGHT LIVE HIS LIFE IN US.

The Bible says that Christ is “the power of God.” He lives in us, and He is made unto us everything we need. First Corinthians 1:30 says, “But of Him (God) you are in Christ Jesus, who became for us wisdom from God — and righteousness and sanctification and redemption…”

How can I be righteous? The answer is “Christ in me”—He is my righteousness. How can I be holy? The answer is “Christ in me”—He is my holiness. How can I overcome temptation? The answer is “Christ in me”—He is the victorious One. How can I fulfill the righteousness of the law? The answer is “Christ in me”—He is the One who always does the will of God.

Notice these verses.

Philippians 4:13 says, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

Galatians 2:20 says, “That life which I now live in the flesh I live in faith, the faith which is in the Son of God, who loved me, and gave Himself up for me.”

We have been talking about living the Christian life, but what is it? Is it my trying to do the best I can? No, it is not. Is it my trying in my own strength to fulfill the law? No, it is not. Is it Christ helping me to live the Christian life? No, it is not this either. The Christian life is Christ living His life in me. The Apostle Paul said, “For to me to live is Christ (His life in me)….”

Then how do we live the Christian life? We live it by faith. This means we live it TRUSTING CHRIST TO LIVE HIS LIFE IN US. Christ lives in us, and as we count on Him to live His life in us, He is faithful to do this.

Begin today to recognize Him—that is, to realize that Christ actually lives in you. When you awake in the morning, say to yourself, “Christ lives in me!” Remind yourself of this often during the day. Rejoice in all that Christ is and all that He means to you. Talk often with Him. Tell Him that you love Him and want to please Him in all that you do. Count on His life in you. Say with the Apostle Paul, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

If the Lord tarries His coming and we live, we will continue this lesson in our next class.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

If you do not know Jesus Christ as your Saviour, John 3:16 states, “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”

The Bible also says in Romans 10:9 and 13: “That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved…. For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.”

If you believe that Jesus Christ died on the cross for your sins, was buried, and rose from the dead, and you want to trust Him for your salvation today, please pray with me this simple prayer: Holy Father God, I realize that I am a sinner and that I have done some bad things in my life. I am sorry for my sins, and I want to turn from my sins. For Jesus Christ sake, please forgive me of my sins. I now believe with all of my heart that Jesus Christ died for me, was buried, and rose again. I trust Him as my Savior and follow Him as Lord from this day forward. Lord Jesus, please come into my heart and save my soul and change my life today. Amen.

If you just trusted Jesus Christ as your Saviour, and you prayed that prayer and meant it from your heart, I declare to you that based upon the Word of God, you are now saved from Hell and you are on your way to Heaven. Welcome to the family of God! I want to congratulate you on doing the most important thing in life and that is receiving Jesus Christ as your Lord and Saviour. For more information to help you grow in your newfound faith in Christ, go to Gospel Light Society.com and read “What To Do After You Enter Through the Door”. Jesus Christ said in John 10:9, “I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture.”

Until next time, May the Lord Bless You!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

