How to Have Victory in the War Against Satan in Your Life, Part 3 (Onward Christian Soldier #90)

Onward Christian Soldiers

Onward Christian Soldiers

Our key Bible passage today is 1 Peter 5:8: “Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour.”

Our lesson today is titled “How to Have Victory in the War Against Satan in Your Life, Part 3”

Satan is a defeated foe. One day, he and his evil spirits will be cast into the lake of fire, and they will never cause trouble again. But meanwhile, he is very active. Satan goes about “as a roaring lion” tempting, deceiving, destroying. No child of God is able in himself to cope with this terrible foe. Only through Christ can we overcome him. God’s Word tells us, “Be strong in the Lord, and in the power of His might.” We are not to be strong in ourselves, but we are to be strong in the Lord. Christ is the Victor over Satan, and we are to be strong in Him.

The Book of Revelation speaks of “overcomers”—believers who overcame Satan. The Bible tells us the secret of how they overcame him. It is a three-fold secret. The Bible says in Revelation 12:11:

“And they overcame him (Satan)
(1) by the blood of the Lamb,
(2) and by the word of their testimony;
(3) and they loved not their lives unto the death.”

Let us consider each of these three things and see how we can use them to overcome Satan.

1. The Blood of the Lamb

Satan is a deceiver and a murderer, but one of his main attacks against Christians is accusing them. He is called “the accuser of the brethren.” He accuses us before God, and he accuses us in our minds. He tells us that we are no good. He tells us that we are weak and sinful and that we will always be this way.

What is our defense against Satan’s accusations? Our defense is “the blood of the Lamb.” Through the blood of the Lord Jesus we can overcome Satan’s accusations. We can say to Satan, “Yes, I am sinful, but the blood of Jesus Christ, God’s Son, cleanses me from all sin.”

2. The word of their testimony

God has given us “the blood of the Lamb” as our defense against Satan’s accusations. He has also given us a weapon to use against Satan himself. That weapon is “the word of our testimony.” This means that we can declare to Satan the great facts of Christ’s victory over him as recorded in the Bible and what they mean for us today.

We can say to Satan, “You are defeated! Jesus Christ is Lord! Jesus is Victor! Jesus is King! I am one with Him.” These are great facts, and Satan cannot dispute them. He knows they are true.

3. They loved not their lives

If we are to overcome Satan, we must not love ourselves. If we love ourselves, we will be defeated. But we don’t have to let Self rule over us. We were crucified with Christ that we might no longer live unto ourselves but unto Him who died for us. We can say with the Apostle Paul, “I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me…”

Through our death, burial, and resurrection with Christ, we have been delivered from the power of every enemy. We can say “No!” to sin, to Self, to the flesh, to the world, and to Satan himself.

Not only has the Lord Jesus delivered us from the power of our enemies, but the victorious, risen Christ Himself lives in us.

We can be overcomers! The Bible says, “You are of God, little children, and have overcome them: because greater is He (Christ) that is in you, than he (Satan) that is in the world.”

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

If you do not know Jesus Christ as your Saviour, John 3:16 states, “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”

The Bible also says in Romans 10:9 and 13: “That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved…. For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.”

If you believe that Jesus Christ died on the cross for your sins, was buried, and rose from the dead, and you want to trust Him for your salvation today, please pray with me this simple prayer: Holy Father God, I realize that I am a sinner and that I have done some bad things in my life. I am sorry for my sins, and I want to turn from my sins. For Jesus Christ sake, please forgive me of my sins. I now believe with all of my heart that Jesus Christ died for me, was buried, and rose again. I trust Him as my Savior and follow Him as Lord from this day forward. Lord Jesus, please come into my heart and save my soul and change my life today. Amen.

If you just trusted Jesus Christ as your Saviour, and you prayed that prayer and meant it from your heart, I declare to you that based upon the Word of God, you are now saved from Hell and you are on your way to Heaven. Welcome to the family of God! I want to congratulate you on doing the most important thing in life and that is receiving Jesus Christ as your Lord and Saviour. For more information to help you grow in your newfound faith in Christ, go to Gospel Light Society.com and read “What To Do After You Enter Through the Door”. Jesus Christ said in John 10:9, “I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture.”

Until next time, May the Lord Bless You!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

